Folkelore

Library Hours for Finals

Thursday, May 23 & Friday, May 24: 8:00 am-1:00 am; Saturday, May 25:  8:00 am-6:00 pm; Sunday, May 26: 11:00 am-1:00 am; Monday, May 27: 8:00 am-1:00 am; Tuesday, May 28-Friday, May 31: 8:00 am-4:45 pm.  

Call for Submissions – Lindell Research Paper Award 2020

The Library is now accepting submissions for the Patricia Lindell Research Prize/Paper. This $400 prize is awarded by the library faculty for a paper already written for a Gustavus academic course. This paper should demonstrate excellent use of source material. Papers may be submitted from Fall Semester 2018 through Spring Semester 2020. As faculty endorsement […]

Audio Video Equipment/Books and DVDs During Summer Months

     Video camera kits, tripods, and/or projectors will not be available for checkout from the library from June 1st – August 31st.  If you were planning on using such equipment during these summer months, please contact James Nickras, x7562 or jnickras@gustavus.edu prior to May 31st to make permissible arrangements. Please also expect a delay […]

Books in Bloom 2019: Bold Visions, Daring Dreams

Books in Bloom is nearly here! Don’t forget the special Author Event on Saturday, May 4 at 1pm in the library.  Joanna Carlson Swanson will be here to discuss her book about her father, Dr. Edgar M. Carlson, 9th president of Gustavus Adolphus College. This event is free and open to the public. Here’s a final […]

Books in Bloom 2019 sneak peek

Please join us at the library May 3-5, 2019 for Books in Bloom! Here’s a sneak peek of book titles featured this year: Across the Universe: Galaxies by Kate Riggs ’05 While Glaciers Slept by M Jackson (Reading in Common 2019) Pinkalicious by Victoria Kann & Elizabeth Kann Educated by Tara Westover The Paris Architect by […]

Books in Bloom is back!

Mark your calendars for Books in Bloom 2019! Hosted by Friends of the Library – Gustavus Library Associates, Books in Bloom will take place May 3-5, 2019 in the library. There will be interpretive floral arrangements available for viewing throughout the weekend, and a special Author Event featuring Joanna Carlson Swanson on Saturday, May 4 […]

Library Hours for Easter Break

Thursday, April 18:  8:00 am – 4:45 pm; Good Friday, April 19 – Easter Sunday, April 21:  Closed.  Monday, April 22:  8:00 am – 1:00 am.

Student Book Reviews

In the Library’s Spring Reading Workshop, students read and discussed a common book (Gustavus alum Kaethe Schwehn’s post-apocalyptic science fiction novel, The Rending & the Nest), wrote reviews of a second book of their choice, and reflected on their own reading tastes and the place of reading in contemporary culture. Excerpts from student book reviews: […]

Library Hours for Spring Break

Friday, March 29: 8:00 am – 4:45 pm; Sat. & Sun., March 30-31: CLOSED; Mon.- Fri., April 1- April 5: 12:00 pm – 4:45 pm; Sat., April 6: CLOSED; Sun., April 7: 6:00 pm – 1:00 am.

Library Star Students

Congratulations to Tyler Stordahl and Anna Ngo for being chosen as Library Star Students for spring semester! The library depends on student employees to provide customer service and critical support for library operations. Star Students have demonstrated superior performance in their departments and are recognized for their willingness to go above and beyond expectations. We […]


Archive